top of page

Chapter 1 : Speculative Everything Response

This chapter made me think of dreams /aspirations in a whole new way. I never thought of dreams as a method of problem-solving or looking towards a solution; however, this made me realize that the link between my dreams and reality is a lot more closely linked than I thought. Every dream you have is a desire to solve the issues or to fulfill whatever is lacking at the moment. Interestingly, the way we solve that is design. It notes that this is where we redefine the relationship between our dreams and reality... therefore making it our reality.


It's only when we lose touch with our dreams ... thus downgraded to hopes, that we further ourselves from making them a reality and turning them into fantasy. It was really insightful to hear that successful design stems from imagination--okay which we kind of know-- and the promise of discussions and a plethora of inspiration sources. Both grand and smaller schemed dreams.


The pluralism of design is emphasized as a method of success. This requires more idealogy and values than our current democratic bipartisan system allows. Thus, probably why it didn't come as a shock to me that most people are able to visualize a dystopian demise to society rather than an alternative to capitalism... but that's just my opinion.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Framing Story + Message

My future is definitely dystopian. Not too far off from where we are now and a realistic depiction of the future--- I didn't want to go...

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page